TSI


What is the TSI?

The TSI is a test that informs the university that a student is college ready. If a student does not pass the TSI, then he/she must enroll in developmental classes before he/she is allowed to start with the general education core (basics). Developmental classes do not count towards a college degree. The TSI is not a factor that is considered by university admission counselors. However, the student must submit a copy of their TSI scores to the university before being allowed to attend orientation.

What are the passing scores?
The TSI has 3 sections: Math, Reading, and Writing. Each section has no more than 25 questions. If additional questions are given, then the student has moved on to the diagnostic section. The passing score for the Math section is a 350. The passing score for the Reading section is 351. The writing section has a grammar part and an essay. The passing score for the grammar part is a 340. The passing score for the essay is a 4. If the student obtains an essay score of a 5, then he/she automatically passes the grammar section. 

How do I register for the TSI?
In order to register for the TSI, a student must provide the completion certificate of the pre-assessment activity. Please click on the following link to complete this task:

A student must also provide the Apply Texas confirmation page that indicates the student has applied to South Texas College. Please click on the following link to complete this task:  

Please submit BOTH forms to the Go Center. The registration fee for each section is $5, but for seniors all sections are FREEThe following are the dates that we will administer the TSI this academic year. 

TSI Test Dates

Tuesday, September 10
Thursday, September 26
Tuesday, October 29
Thursday, November 07
Tuesday, November 21
Tuesday, January 21
Tuesday, January 28
Thursday, February 11
Thursday, February 27
Tuesday, March 24 (2 labs)
Thursday, April 16 (2 labs)
Thursday, April 30 (2 labs)
Saturday, May 16

 * Limit of 28 slots per test dates *

*** 56 slots in March and April only ***


How do I prepare for the TSI?
Please click on the links below for practice questions.

How do I get my scores?
At the end of your test you will receive a hard copy
of your test scores.